print only shell, not walls

Discussion of Ultimaker's open-source Cura software
Post Reply
cla68
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: March 24th, 2018, 10:12 am
3D Printer(s): MOOZ_2, M3D

print only shell, not walls

Post by cla68 » March 24th, 2018, 10:24 am

Hello, it's first time I post in this forum. I use 3d printer since three years, just for hobbies. I have a M3D and then I got a Mooz2. M3D has its own slicing software integrated. I have a simple model (attached) which I successfully printed with M3D. Now I try using Cura (3.2.1). Here attached settings. For same model printed I get only outer shell, no walls, no base thickess. May I get a help? thanks.
Attachments
SETTINGS.PNG
piede lampada rev2.1 fixed.stl
(149.3 KiB) Downloaded 66 times

GrueMaster
Reactions:
Posts: 342
Joined: March 15th, 2017, 8:46 pm
Location: Oregon
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP-17, Hictop CR-10S

Re: print only shell, not walls

Post by GrueMaster » March 24th, 2018, 10:50 am

I checked your model on my system (same Cura), and the only way to get it to do what you are saying is if I have Spiralize Outer Contour enabled under Special Modes. Check that setting.

cla68
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: March 24th, 2018, 10:12 am
3D Printer(s): MOOZ_2, M3D

Re: print only shell, not walls

Post by cla68 » March 24th, 2018, 11:59 am

Yes, the option 'Spiralize Outer Contour' is enabled. So, I should disable it and re-try, correct? thanks :-)

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3201
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Re: print only shell, not walls

Post by LePaul » March 24th, 2018, 7:21 pm

Yes shut that off

cla68
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: March 24th, 2018, 10:12 am
3D Printer(s): MOOZ_2, M3D

Re: print only shell, not walls

Post by cla68 » March 25th, 2018, 7:01 am

It works, thanks!
I do not know Cura in details. One question: in my model posted there is a small hole in vertical, at the mid of a simple cylinder, a sort of glass. The layers printed at the same height of hole are not very good, those printed inside the part. I wonder if I could test some alternative settings which could get rid of such 'faulty' layers.

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 487
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: print only shell, not walls

Post by Roberts_Clif » March 26th, 2018, 11:12 am

Here are my Cura settings for 2.6.2 they are importable to 3.2.1
Cura 2.6.2.zip
(2.19 KiB) Downloaded 67 times
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

cla68
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: March 24th, 2018, 10:12 am
3D Printer(s): MOOZ_2, M3D

Re: print only shell, not walls

Post by cla68 » March 27th, 2018, 5:28 am

Thanks. I am going to try the version 0.2 mm. Thanks

Post Reply

Return to “Cura”