Cura 3.4 is out

Discussion of Ultimaker's open-source Cura software
Post Reply
User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3168
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Cura 3.4 is out

Post by LePaul » June 27th, 2018, 1:54 pm


User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 461
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Cura 3.4 is out

Post by Roberts_Clif » June 27th, 2018, 2:18 pm

Thank You
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3168
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Re: Cura 3.4 is out

Post by LePaul » June 28th, 2018, 9:29 am

They fixed the Octoprint plug in...as for the rest...I wish they would make videos explaining the changes so we could see them in action.

The wall of text changelog isn't super helpful

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 461
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Cura 3.4 is out

Post by Roberts_Clif » June 28th, 2018, 10:34 am

LePaul wrote:
June 28th, 2018, 9:29 am
They fixed the Octoprint plug in
The wall of text changelog isn't super helpful
The wall wasn't very helpful for me.

I Used Octoprint as a stand alone, did not note it was acting up.
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

User avatar
drayson
Reactions:
Posts: 252
Joined: February 15th, 2016, 5:04 am
Location: Graz, Austria
3D Printer(s): UMO with mods :-)

Re: Cura 3.4 is out

Post by drayson » June 29th, 2018, 7:50 pm

...found a plugin for custom support!!!!!!!!

http://lokspace.eu/cura-custom-supports-plugin/

GrueMaster
Reactions:
Posts: 331
Joined: March 15th, 2017, 8:46 pm
Location: Oregon
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP-17, Hictop CR-10S

Re: Cura 3.4 is out

Post by GrueMaster » June 30th, 2018, 12:16 pm

Ugh. First it complained about my pla profiles. Now it won't see my octoprint systems. Printer configs are there, Octoprint plugin is installed (although I don't see any indications for it other than it is listed as installed).

Back to 3.2.1 I guess.

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 461
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Cura 3.4 is out

Post by Roberts_Clif » July 1st, 2018, 6:22 pm

Have been testing Cura 3.4.0 and find that the Custom Supports plugin is a GREAT improvement over the way supports have been handled.
With this one improvement I will be using this newest version of Cura a lot more from Now on.

Have wanted an easy way to add custom supports, and have been testing many different versions of slicer firmware as a result.
know what my 3D Printer can print without supports, and how far it will bridge without the need for supports.

The other slicers programmer writers have dreaded this day, with this one little plugin it pushes Cura above the competition for slicers in my book.
Any other features Cura 3.4.0 an above has only pushes if farther above competition from this point.
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 461
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Cura 3.4 is out

Post by Roberts_Clif » July 1st, 2018, 8:32 pm

Now for the Other News
Cura 3.4.0 and OctoPrint Plugin (As I don't know which is the cause)

Cura 3.4.0 Main Window File Menu
Click Settings
Select 3D Printer (My printers Names are (Red or Blu))
Click Settings
Click Manage Printers

Preference windows
Select Printer (Red or Blu) Click Activate

Connect to OctoPrint Window
Select Printer (Red or Blu) Click Connect
API Key on this is windows will only except one API key

Cura 3.1.0 Will Still except an API for both 3D Printers.

What Up!!!
Does Cura 3.4.0 work differently than Cura 3.1.0? Or is OctoPrint not allowing the second API to be saved.
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3168
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Re: Cura 3.4 is out

Post by LePaul » July 2nd, 2018, 2:33 pm

GrueMaster wrote:
June 30th, 2018, 12:16 pm
Ugh. First it complained about my pla profiles. Now it won't see my octoprint systems. Printer configs are there, Octoprint plugin is installed (although I don't see any indications for it other than it is listed as installed).

Back to 3.2.1 I guess.
Try downloading the Plugin again. They (Ultimaker) failed to update the plugin system with the latest (corrected) version. It should be issuing the right one now

GrueMaster
Reactions:
Posts: 331
Joined: March 15th, 2017, 8:46 pm
Location: Oregon
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP-17, Hictop CR-10S

Re: Cura 3.4 is out

Post by GrueMaster » July 4th, 2018, 10:23 am

That seemed to do it, thanks. Still frustrated that I have to reconfigure printers with each release. They haven't quite gotten the old config importer working properly on Linux. It fails randomly. I tried deleting all of the 3.4 settings and restarting multiple times, each time failed something different (filament, printer, etc). Unfortunately, with each restart, I lose all of my plugins (they are downloaded to the same area as the settings for that version on Linux). Easy enough to manually reconfigure, but PITA.

Post Reply

Return to “Cura”