I "think" I know what printer I need, could really use some guidance...

Discussion of ANY 3D printing topic you desire!
L67GS
Reactions:

I "think" I know what printer I need, could really use some guidance...

Post by L67GS »

So I posted in the forum welcome thread but I think I may have found my printer already. I'm big on experimentation and would like to be able to print in a wide variety of materials, TPU, TPE, Nylon, and recycled PET are what I'm looking at most.

From reading I see a direct drive is the best choice for the softer materials, and I can't imagine it much matters for the harder stuff, but I'm still learning here.

I'd like to pretty quickly get set up extruding my own filament to keep waste down and I drink junkie level amounts of Pepsi so I have plenty of PET on hand at all times. For this reason I want to keep some room in my starter budget for a shredder and extruder.

I'm not against upgrades, and understand that a budget machine will possibly require some mods to be most useful, the machine I'm looking at is pretty cheap so that frightens me a bit, the Creality CR-10 V3 E3D Direct Drive Extruder Printer is what I'm currently looking at.

With more research to do, and a shredder and extruder to source I'm still a couple of months from pulling the trigger and adding this to my lab, but I'd appreciate any suggestions just so I don't end up with something I regret.
Thanks for reading, Tom
L67GS
Reactions:

Re: I "think" I know what printer I need, could really use some guidance...

Post by L67GS »