MAXTEMP BED Error

Creality brand 3D Printers!
Post Reply
ashtonwatts
Reactions:
Posts: 3
Joined: November 2nd, 2019, 4:01 pm
3D Printer(s): Prusa MK3S & Creality CR10 S5

MAXTEMP BED Error

Post by ashtonwatts » November 2nd, 2019, 4:11 pm

Hi All,

I have a CR10 S5 and i'm having trouble with the bed temp. The bed temp always reads as 236 degrees even when target is set to 0. I have even unplugged everything from the controller so it is not connected to the printer at all and it still thinks the temp is 236. Andy time I try to preheat it, or move any axis is get a MAXTEMP BED error.

I have tried re flashing the firmware with two different versions but to no avail. Is my board dead?
IMG_20191102_195522.jpg
IMG_20191102_195438.jpg

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 858
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: MAXTEMP BED Error

Post by Roberts_Clif » November 2nd, 2019, 9:00 pm

I would measure the hot-end Thermister.
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

ashtonwatts
Reactions:
Posts: 3
Joined: November 2nd, 2019, 4:01 pm
3D Printer(s): Prusa MK3S & Creality CR10 S5

Re: MAXTEMP BED Error

Post by ashtonwatts » November 3rd, 2019, 2:03 pm

Hi


Thanks for the reply but it isn;t plugged in, nothing is plugged into the controller unit except the power lead and it still reads as 236 degrees

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 858
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: MAXTEMP BED Error

Post by Roberts_Clif » November 3rd, 2019, 8:21 pm

I have posted an example of Open and Shorted temps before here

Your photos shows it thinks you have a low resistance thermister across the bed Thermister connectors pins.
Or
You have chosen the wrong thermister firmware settings.
Or
It could also be a bad pull-up resistor shorted capacitor in the Thermister input circuit.
Or
A any kind of a lower resistant short in this circuit.
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

ashtonwatts
Reactions:
Posts: 3
Joined: November 2nd, 2019, 4:01 pm
3D Printer(s): Prusa MK3S & Creality CR10 S5

Re: MAXTEMP BED Error

Post by ashtonwatts » November 5th, 2019, 2:34 pm

Hi,

I have removed the board from the control box and unplugged everything except the LCD and power in, I have also connected it to a different power supply to take out as many variables as possible.

I just flashed the firmware using TH3D Unified Firmware Package and it is definitely set as the right board. Still getting the same fault although it now shows 221 instead of 236

The board itself looks okay, do bent or damaged capacitors or pins.

I think it must be a fault with the board.

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3420
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): UM2+,CR-10S (x2),Tevo Tornado,FT-i3/FT-5/FT-6...
Contact:

Re: MAXTEMP BED Error

Post by LePaul » November 5th, 2019, 3:49 pm

We had a board do this recently on a CR-10S 500 at work. We thought it might be a bad thermosistor then the bed temp started reading wrong too.

New board was the only real solution. I was surprised the board had to go but something on it just isn't right.

Post Reply

Return to “Creality Large Scale 3D Printers”