Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Software and Firmware Discussion - related to source code, firmware updates, etc.
Mr SNG
Reactions:
Posts: 61
Joined: January 1st, 2018, 11:02 am
3D Printer(s): hictop auto leveling desktop 3d printer prusa i3

Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Mr SNG » October 17th, 2019, 10:23 am

Having now uploaded this version of firmware to my printer I am however encountering a few issues.

One issue that is really bugging me is that when the machine is powered up the display shows a question mark next to the X,Y & Z axes, after homing the three axis then all seems to be okay.

So the question I want to ask is: Do I have to home all three axis's every time I power up the machine or can these be stored in the EEPROM, I have tried storing the homed set up but keep getting an "Err: Too far !" message.

Can anyone advise me where I'm going wrong please?

Adrian_S
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: March 9th, 2018, 5:15 pm
3D Printer(s): HICTOP 3DP11

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Adrian_S » October 18th, 2019, 3:46 am

You have to home, it isn't a setting, it's a position measurement and could change between sessions.

Mr SNG
Reactions:
Posts: 61
Joined: January 1st, 2018, 11:02 am
3D Printer(s): hictop auto leveling desktop 3d printer prusa i3

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Mr SNG » October 18th, 2019, 8:32 am

Many thanks for your reply Adrian.

I have now fine tuned and saved the settings for the Z axis. I now use the 'Auto Home' function every time I power up the machine for printing.

However one function I am going to alter in Arduino is the grid points in the bed leveling section, I feel 36 grid points is a bit of an over kill!

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 858
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Roberts_Clif » October 18th, 2019, 8:51 am

I use a 6 X 6 pattern.
Though you do know that you can save the bed Leveling data and then retrieve it.
I use the bed leveling data for weeks before I re-level the bed.
When you do a M500 it saves all data including the bed leveling data.

In Marlin 1.1.9 and above you can select a restore bed leveling data after G28

Code: Select all

#define RESTORE_LEVELING_AFTER_G28
You can also add M420 to the end of your slicers G-Code

Code: Select all

M420 S1   ; Bed Leveling On
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

Mr SNG
Reactions:
Posts: 61
Joined: January 1st, 2018, 11:02 am
3D Printer(s): hictop auto leveling desktop 3d printer prusa i3

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Mr SNG » October 18th, 2019, 10:34 am

No I didn't know I could save the leveling data, still got a lot learning to do!

From what I can see there is only one line that includes M500 and that is active in the 'Unified Bed Leveling' section.

So do I need to add a command before G28?

Code: Select all

#define RESTORE_LEVELING_AFTER_G28

/**
 * Enable detailed logging of G28, G29, M48, etc.
 * Turn on with the command 'M111 S32'.
 * NOTE: Requires a lot of PROGMEM!
 */
//#define DEBUG_LEVELING_FEATURE

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 858
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Roberts_Clif » October 18th, 2019, 11:55 am

All you need to do is after you have done a auto bed level
Is to use the LCD to "store settings"

As I use a Raspberry Pi with Octoprint I can also use the G-Code method from another room
send G28
send G29
Send M500

in my slicer I have M420 S1 at the end of the end of my startup G-Code
M420 S1 ; Bed Leveling On

to test Bed Leveling Data Bi-Linear saved


Or if you enabled this line everything is automatically done

Code: Select all

#define RESTORE_LEVELING_AFTER_G28
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

Mr SNG
Reactions:
Posts: 61
Joined: January 1st, 2018, 11:02 am
3D Printer(s): hictop auto leveling desktop 3d printer prusa i3

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Mr SNG » October 18th, 2019, 12:13 pm

Ah right I understand now. So M420 should it be entered just before M117 Printing.....

G21 ;metric values
G90 ;absolute positioning
M82 ;set extruder to absolute mode
M107 ;start with the fan off
G28 X0 Y0 ;move X/Y to min endstops
G28 Z0 ;move Z to min endstops
G1 Z15.0 F9000 ;move the platform down 15mm
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length
G1 F200 E3 ;extrude 3mm of feed stock
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length again
G1 F9000
;Put printing message on LCD screen
M117 Printing...

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 858
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Roberts_Clif » October 18th, 2019, 12:33 pm

Sure!

My code is setup a little different,
And as stated I most likely do not need the M420 S1 ; Bed Leveling On

Code: Select all

;Filament used: {filament_amount}m {filament_weight}g
;Filament cost: {filament_cost}
;M190 S{print_bed_temperature} ;Uncomment to add your own bed temperature line
;M109 S{print_temperature} ;Uncomment to add your own temperature line
G21        ;metric values
G90        ;absolute positioning
M82        ;set extruder to absolute mode
;M106 S127 ;set Fan half speed
M107       ;start with the fan off
G28 X0 Y0  ;move X/Y to min endstops
G28 Z0     ;move Z to min endstops
G1 Z15.0 F{travel_speed} ;move the platform down 15mm
;Put printing message on LCD screen
M117 My Print...
G28 X0 Y0
G1 E4.0 ;prime extruder
G92 E0 ;reset extruder length
M420 S1   ; Bed Leveling On
M220 S32.000000 ; Set print speed to 32% for 1st layer only
Tweak at Z ;Plugin
;change at layer height two
print speed 80%
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

Mr SNG
Reactions:
Posts: 61
Joined: January 1st, 2018, 11:02 am
3D Printer(s): hictop auto leveling desktop 3d printer prusa i3

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Mr SNG » October 18th, 2019, 12:42 pm

How come you have G28 X0 Y0 entered twice?

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 858
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Roberts_Clif » October 18th, 2019, 6:21 pm

Simple After all previous code the Nozzle is center the build Plate, the nozzle is then moved 15mm up.

Adding the second "G28 X0 Y0" moves Nozzle to the Front Right on Build plate, then extrudes 4mm filament.
This gives me time to remove the extruded material from the nozzle before it gets mixed into the Model
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

Mr SNG
Reactions:
Posts: 61
Joined: January 1st, 2018, 11:02 am
3D Printer(s): hictop auto leveling desktop 3d printer prusa i3

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Mr SNG » October 20th, 2019, 12:41 pm

This is my Start G-Code at present, do you feel it could be tweaked a bit more?

Code: Select all

G21 ;metric values
G90 ;absolute positioning
M82 ;set extruder to absolute mode
M107 ;start with the fan off
G28 X0 Y0 ;move X/Y to min endstops
G28 Z0 ;move Z to min endstops
G1 Z15.0 F9000 ;move the platform down 15mm
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length
G1 F200 E3 ;extrude 3mm of feed stock
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length again
G1 F9000
;Put printing message on LCD screen
M117 Printing...
G28 X0 Y0
G1 E4.0 ;prime extruder
G92 E0 ;reset extruder length
M420 S1   ; Bed Leveling On
M220 S32.000000 ; Set print speed to 32% for 1st layer only

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 858
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Roberts_Clif » October 20th, 2019, 2:22 pm

I see nothing wrong; it will work.

Though you Prime twice and Zero extruder thrice: two extrude command lines sets.

Code: Select all

G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length
G1 F200 E3 ;extrude 3mm of feed stock
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length again

Code: Select all

G1 E4.0 ;prime extruder 4mm of filament
G92 E0 ;reset extruder length
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

Mr SNG
Reactions:
Posts: 61
Joined: January 1st, 2018, 11:02 am
3D Printer(s): hictop auto leveling desktop 3d printer prusa i3

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Mr SNG » October 20th, 2019, 2:39 pm

Corrected that now.

One other issue was initial print layer speed I didn't need to include that as Cura 4.3 has a detailed configuration in its Speed drop down menu.

So far so good......Prints are really starting to look very neat, I'm very pleased with the progress.

User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 858
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Roberts_Clif » October 20th, 2019, 4:15 pm

Mr SNG wrote:
October 20th, 2019, 2:39 pm
One other issue was initial print layer speed.

I have different startup print speeds.
I use 32% because normally when printing the skirt is when the fine tuning of the layer height occurs.
I will adjust the 1st layer height using Z axis baby-steps until I see that perfect layer height adhesion.
After I see that the initial layers are secure and laying flat, then the speed can be adjusted.
This speed adjustment depends mainly on the complexity of the shape, like this Velociraptor Business Card.
I will print the entire 1st layer between 32-46% then Tweak at Z plugin changes to normal print speed 76%.
Electronics Technician / Computer Programmer

Mr SNG
Reactions:
Posts: 61
Joined: January 1st, 2018, 11:02 am
3D Printer(s): hictop auto leveling desktop 3d printer prusa i3

Re: Marlin 1.1.9 Setup Problems

Post by Mr SNG » October 21st, 2019, 4:44 pm

So how do you tweak Z when the machine is printing?

Post Reply

Return to “Software and Firmware Discussion”