OctoPrint and Cura

Wireless/network connectivity to print, control and monitor prints!
User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3123
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

OctoPrint and Cura

Post by LePaul » July 4th, 2017, 10:36 pm

Got the Pi setup and the case I bought is OK, the lid doesn't go on well so I may just print something later on

Found some instructions on how to make OctoPi work in Cura (because why would that be anywhere in the Cura release notes, right?)

In the sidebar, click on the name of your printer, and choose 'Manage Printers...' from the dropdown. Or open the Preferences window and navigate to the Printers pane. Once there, click on the 'Connect to OctoPrint' button.

In the window that pops up, with a bit of luck, you can select your OctoPrint instance. Before you press the Connect button, make sure you enter the API code. You can look this up in the OctoPrint webinterface (in the settings window)


And got a nice view of my print in progress.
octoprint.png

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3123
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by LePaul » July 5th, 2017, 1:01 pm

Well while the camera view works, and the option to Print with Octoprint, there's a few issues...

When print starts, it immediately raises the bed and print head temps, then when done, the bed is raised and print immediately starts.

What's not happening ....

Print head not homing
Print head not extruding material prior to start of print

I'm not sure if these are things within Cura that need to be addressed or within OctoPrint? @nallath ?

User avatar
Neotko
Reactions:
Posts: 1142
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 7:02 pm
Location: Madrid
3D Printer(s): UMO+ x2.5
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by Neotko » July 5th, 2017, 4:08 pm

Octoprint uses reprap mode with a um2 start/end. Edit the sequence and test step by step sending the gcodes manually to detect the issue.

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3123
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by LePaul » July 5th, 2017, 10:56 pm

Well this plugin is supposed to alleviate that step!

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3123
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by LePaul » July 5th, 2017, 11:07 pm

Neotko wrote:
July 5th, 2017, 4:08 pm
Octoprint uses reprap mode with a um2 start/end. Edit the sequence and test step by step sending the gcodes manually to detect the issue.
Found something here: http://daniepstein.com/daniepstein/octo ... timaker-2/

Start and End Codes he suggests (again, from 2015)

Start

Code: Select all

;Sliced at: {day} {date} {time}
;Basic settings: Layer height: {layer_height} Walls: {wall_thickness} Fill: {fill_density}
;Print time: {print_time}
;Filament used: {filament_amount}m {filament_weight}g
;Filament cost: {filament_cost}
;M190 S{print_bed_temperature} ;Uncomment to add your own bed temperature line
;M109 S{print_temperature} ;Uncomment to add your own temperature line
G21 ;metric values
G90 ;absolute positioning
M82 ;set extruder to absolute mode
M107 ;start with the fan off
G28 X0 Y0 ;move X/Y to min endstops
G28 Z0 ;move Z to min endstops
G1 F12000 X5 Y10 ;move hotend to front left
G1 Z15.0 F{travel_speed} ;move the platform down 15mm
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length
G1 F200 E5 ;extrude 5mm of feed stock quickly
G1 F50 E15 ;extrude 15mm of feed stock slowly
G92 E0 ;zero the extruded length again
G1 F{travel_speed}
;Put message on LCD screen - well, not really coz it don't work
M117 Printing...
End

Code: Select all

;End GCode
M104 S0 ;extruder heater off
M140 S0 ;heated bed heater off (if you have it)
G91 ;relative positioning
G1 E-1 F300 ;retract the filament a bit before lifting the nozzle, to release some of the pressure
G1 Z+0.5 E-5 X-20 Y-20 F{travel_speed} ;move Z up a bit and retract filament even more
G28 X0 Y0 ;move X/Y to min endstops, so the head is out of the way
G28 Z0 ;move Z to min endstops
M84 ;steppers off
G90 ;absolute positioning
;{profile_string}
I assume that goes into this area?
gcode.jpg

User avatar
Neotko
Reactions:
Posts: 1142
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 7:02 pm
Location: Madrid
3D Printer(s): UMO+ x2.5
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by Neotko » July 6th, 2017, 2:35 am

I don't use octoprint, but if it homes two times, then somewhere the g28 is sent two times.

Maybe someone can clarify you that. Afaik I would just download the gcode that is generated with that and read it to see the issue.

nallath
Reactions:
Posts: 265
Joined: February 16th, 2016, 3:12 am
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by nallath » July 6th, 2017, 3:51 am

I have little to no experience with octoprint. The entire functionality to have it in Cura was also contributed by FieldOfView. So if you have any questions or bugs, he's the guy to contact.

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3123
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by LePaul » July 6th, 2017, 10:44 am

It would be really cool and incredibly helpful if the contributor offered some meaningful instructions/documentation.

Why make it so difficult for users/customers to make use of a plugin??

"Here's a really cool add-in but I'm not going to provide your users with the details of how to use it" Really?

User avatar
Neotko
Reactions:
Posts: 1142
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 7:02 pm
Location: Madrid
3D Printer(s): UMO+ x2.5
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by Neotko » July 9th, 2017, 3:05 am


User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3123
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by LePaul » July 9th, 2017, 4:07 pm

That's a very good tutorial especially pointing out the slight change to the end code

User avatar
Neotko
Reactions:
Posts: 1142
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 7:02 pm
Location: Madrid
3D Printer(s): UMO+ x2.5
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by Neotko » July 9th, 2017, 4:28 pm

You know that, except the octoprint, that to use reprap flavor & change end gcode E retraction distance was what we recommended you half a year ago?

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3123
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by LePaul » July 9th, 2017, 4:43 pm

I didn't have a Pi then....I'm not sure what you are talking about for the rest?

I just started a print with it now. As is usual with my Ultimaker 2+, it didn't extrude nearly anything to start the print (so I will have to continue to manually prime the printhead)

I also note the time to print are pretty interesting. Octoprint says 1.5 hours to 33 minutes in Cura

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3123
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by LePaul » July 9th, 2017, 5:02 pm

Looks like the print times are starting to align closer together now....test robot looking good

User avatar
Neotko
Reactions:
Posts: 1142
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 7:02 pm
Location: Madrid
3D Printer(s): UMO+ x2.5
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by Neotko » July 9th, 2017, 5:23 pm

LePaul wrote:
July 9th, 2017, 5:02 pm
Looks like the print times are starting to align closer together now....test robot looking good
Believe Cura. They did an impressive job on the time to print math

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3123
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Re: OctoPrint and Cura

Post by LePaul » July 10th, 2017, 9:34 am

I agree

I did a print last night, just uploading gcode I made on S3D to the printer. I think I am going to double check the S3D end gcode, since the print cooling fans were still running when I checked on the completed print this morning. (It also didn't lower the plate to the bottom)

Post Reply

Return to “Wireless Printing and Controllers”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests