Where Do I Start?

Have a problem or question, suggested links/information/FAQ's? Post it here
Mr SNG
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): hictop auto leveling desktop 3d printer prusa i3

Where Do I Start?

Post by Mr SNG »

Nearly two years ago I purchased a Hictop 3DP12 from ebay, the main motive for buying it was to print off bespoke parts for my engineering.

After building it I started to try and level the print bed and sort of gave up, covered up the machine and its been stored on a shelf in my workshop ever since!

I'm no thick head to computer aided machining as I use a CNC mill most of the time. However the time has come where I need to start using a 3D printer.

So before I commit myself to tinkering around with this machine I'm hoping someone can kindly guide and advise me on any issues I need to know about starting with firmware. What is the latest version I should use and how do I upgrade the machines controller?

I guess I'ts best to consider me a total newb so any pointers to get me started in the right direction will be really appreciated.

Cheers
Dave
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Where Do I Start?

Post by Roberts_Clif »

Hello Dave ; (Mr SNG)

Guess you may be addressing a Hictop 3DP11 and 3DP12 owner both upgraded to the newest firmware.
There are many threads here to read though if you start in the Hictop thread of the Forum you may find,
what you are looking for in here ready for you to read in the Software or Hardware threads.

Not putting you off! I am giving you some homework, when you have quickly read over the sections you will
have a better ideal of what you want to achieve if you have not already found this information.

I left my 3D Printer stock with the exception on my choice of proximity sensor an filament run-out switch.

I have upgraded threw most versions of Marlin firmware 1.1.x and Marlin 2.0.x
Posting links to original hardware compatible Marlin firmware that work with Hictop 3DP12.