Auto Bed, Lead Screw, Extruder Upgrade MK2 from Prusa3d

Share your hardware improvements for your HIC i3, the good and the bad!
thestepper
Posts: 3
Joined: September 16th, 2016, 11:05 pm
3D Printer(s): Hictop Prusa i3

Auto Bed, Lead Screw, Extruder Upgrade MK2 from Prusa3d

Postby thestepper » December 10th, 2016, 4:52 am

Any ideas if this MK2 upgrade kit could be compabible with Hictop i3?
The Auto bed leveling and calibration are impressive. $200 might be worth it for these features from good source.

http://shop.prusa3d.com/en/printer-upgr ... e-kit.html

User avatar
Chaco
Posts: 22
Joined: September 12th, 2016, 6:48 pm
Location: OH
3D Printer(s): Hictop Prusa i3 3DP-08
Contact:

Re: Auto Bed, Lead Screw, Extruder Upgrade MK2 from Prusa3d

Postby Chaco » December 10th, 2016, 11:54 am

Just by looking at the actual hardware, i would say its not compatible.
But for that price alone, the hot end, motors, and bed are almost worth the price themselves.

I spent about $79 shipped for a E3Dv6 full hot end kit with an extra nozzle and extra silicone covers. Im sure theres ways to make it work, but i think in the long run it will take a lot of work, and will be more trouble than its worth.

thestepper
Posts: 3
Joined: September 16th, 2016, 11:05 pm
3D Printer(s): Hictop Prusa i3

Re: Auto Bed, Lead Screw, Extruder Upgrade MK2 from Prusa3d

Postby thestepper » December 16th, 2016, 1:20 am

Thanks for your input - I'll hold off but keep an eye on it. Like you said, not sure if could end up needing too much mods. Although I have a spare frame I could work with, and extra BASE board and power supply, extra standard steppers. I would almost have second printer with this.

blc
Posts: 22
Joined: March 25th, 2016, 11:03 am
3D Printer(s): HICTOP 3DP-11

Re: Auto Bed, Lead Screw, Extruder Upgrade MK2 from Prusa3d

Postby blc » December 22nd, 2016, 6:47 am

It would be fantastic if we could use that upgrade kit, because the Prusa i3 MK2 is the only "affordable" (relatively speaking) printer I've heard of which has both mesh bed leveling and automatic probing enabled at the same time. Sadly I doubt it though: it's probably made to fit the exact dimensions of the original Prusa i3


Return to “Hardware Modifications”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests