Updating HIC 3DP-03 to Marlin 1.1.X

Software and Firmware Discussion - related to source code, firmware updates, etc.
zembacraftworks
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): HIC 3DP-03

Updating HIC 3DP-03 to Marlin 1.1.X

Post by zembacraftworks »

Greetings all, I've been running a HICTOP 3DP-03 for a couple years.

I've made a few modifications (new extruder, new hotend, new heated bed), and awhile ago I tracked down the source for the HICTOP firmware to make some minor modifications for those upgrades.

It still works great, but I've been wanting to update to a newer, official Marlin firmware and enable features like thermal runaway protection that are lacking in the stock HICTOP flavour.

It seems like you folks have done quite a bit of that. Any suggestions where to start? I was thinking of starting with Chip Luck's firmware from this thread but I'm curious what differences to look out for between different 3DP model printers.
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Updating HIC 3DP-03 to Marlin 1.1.X

Post by Roberts_Clif »

Do you have your original firmware source code?

I have a 3DP11 and a 3DP12 and started with Chip Luck's firmware presently using Marlin 1.1.5. Thou have configured all Marlin 1.1.X

Post a Link or your configuration.h file, we have many Hictop users here and can get you on the correct path.
Not sure if the M503 works on the 3DP03 but this will print out most of the numbers needed for configuration.h setup.
Tell us about you minor modifications.

Now myself when I upgraded I was a little nervous, so to settle my nerves I purchased a spare Controller so if i messed up I would still have the original.
Today I have two 3D Printers and 2 sets of LCD & Controllers as backups no longer nervous about flashing any new firmware.
zembacraftworks
Reactions:

Sure thing! Here's the configuration.h for the firmware I'm currently running. I forget where I downloaded it originally but it was posted as the stock HICTOP firmware for 3DP-03.