adjusting for dimensional accuracy?

Software and Firmware Discussion - related to source code, firmware updates, etc.
Post Reply
syadnom
Reactions:
Posts: 20
Joined: October 10th, 2017, 7:03 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop i3 mk8

adjusting for dimensional accuracy?

Post by syadnom » November 9th, 2017, 10:15 am

hictop i3 on 1.6.1

I'm losing about .7mm per 100mm on a print (both x and y), is the best method to resolve this to change the default axis steps per unit? currently set at x 80 and y 80. 80x1.007 is 80.56 so it looks like I can be ~.07 under, or ~.06 over.

...or is there another way?

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 2911
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5, Creality CR-10
Contact:

Re: adjusting for dimensional accuracy?

Post by LePaul » November 9th, 2017, 12:25 pm

Esteps calculation is the best way. If your firmware allows edits to be saved, you can do it there. My CR-10 does not so I have to run a M92 line with the settings on my code start up

syadnom
Reactions:
Posts: 20
Joined: October 10th, 2017, 7:03 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop i3 mk8

Re: adjusting for dimensional accuracy?

Post by syadnom » November 9th, 2017, 12:34 pm

M92 will just set the steps/unit though. Can I do partial steps? Also, what does the M92 line look like for X and Y?

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 2911
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5, Creality CR-10
Contact:

Re: adjusting for dimensional accuracy?

Post by LePaul » November 9th, 2017, 2:57 pm

Well, for example, my first line of GCODE for my CR-10 looks like this...

Code: Select all

M92 x81.12 y81.08 E108.13 Z417.18
I did 20mm calibration blocks and used the calipers to find out how far off I was.

Now this video shows you how to calibrate the extruder, but you can carry on this lesson on the X, Y and Z axis too


syadnom
Reactions:
Posts: 20
Joined: October 10th, 2017, 7:03 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop i3 mk8

Re: adjusting for dimensional accuracy?

Post by syadnom » November 9th, 2017, 3:00 pm

Thanks. I'll have to do some test'n'measures.

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 2911
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5, Creality CR-10
Contact:

Re: adjusting for dimensional accuracy?

Post by LePaul » November 9th, 2017, 3:55 pm

Digital calipers are your best friend!

syadnom
Reactions:
Posts: 20
Joined: October 10th, 2017, 7:03 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop i3 mk8

Re: adjusting for dimensional accuracy?

Post by syadnom » November 9th, 2017, 3:57 pm

That's how I found the .7mm discrepancy.

Printing calibration tests now.

User avatar
MTVDNA
Reactions:
Posts: 130
Joined: August 7th, 2016, 10:29 pm
Location: Netherlands
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

Re: adjusting for dimensional accuracy?

Post by MTVDNA » November 10th, 2017, 6:07 pm

A discrepancy of .7 mm isn't a whole lot. Keep in mind that some plastics shrink as they cool down, and this may differ per filament, color, etc. If you really need accurate parts, you should probably print a new calibration cube every time you use a different spool.

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 2911
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5, Creality CR-10
Contact:

Re: adjusting for dimensional accuracy?

Post by LePaul » November 11th, 2017, 4:48 pm

Good point. I seem to find some colors of the same brand print a bit differently....with white being the worst to dial in

Post Reply

Return to “Software and Firmware Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest