Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Software and Firmware Discussion - related to source code, firmware updates, etc.
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by Roberts_Clif »

Quick questions, I am assuming you have a stock Hictop 3DP03 3D Printer.

You have the standard threaded lead screw 8mm x 1.25.
And Still have end-stop switches and no Proximity sensors.
If you have made any changes from Stock post your changes or changes you wish to make at this time.
ieatacid
Reactions:
Posts: 45
Joined: August 12th, 2017, 1:48 pm
Location: Scranton, PA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP-03

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by ieatacid »

Yes, stock 3DP-03. I'm unsure of the lead screw pitch but they're the ones that came with the printer. Oh, I did add two mosfets so the bed and extruder heaters can draw power directly from the power supply instead of the main board.
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by Roberts_Clif »

An 8mm nut will screw onto the lead screw.
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by Roberts_Clif »

ieatacid wrote: August 12th, 2017, 8:16 pm Oh, I did add two mosfets so the bed and extruder heaters can draw power directly from the power supply instead of the main board.
Would like to see that modification I could do that to my 3D Printers.
ieatacid
Reactions:
Posts: 45
Joined: August 12th, 2017, 1:48 pm
Location: Scranton, PA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP-03

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by ieatacid »

I can check the screw when I get home.

https://3dprint.wiki/reprap/electronics/heatbed_mosfet

Here's the mosfets I used (2): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01HEQVQAK/re ... Jzb4TTW6N4

Installation is easy and I designed and printed some simple mounts for them. I can answer any questions you may have about that :)
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by Roberts_Clif »

Sorry I thought you were home.
What time will you be home And I will Be here.
ieatacid
Reactions:
Posts: 45
Joined: August 12th, 2017, 1:48 pm
Location: Scranton, PA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP-03

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by ieatacid »

I should be home around 11pm eastern time.
ieatacid
Reactions:
Posts: 45
Joined: August 12th, 2017, 1:48 pm
Location: Scranton, PA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP-03

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by ieatacid »

Ok, I'm home, finally.
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by Roberts_Clif »

ok here is a Trapezoidal lead screw
Leadscrew.jpg
does it look like this or an all thread
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by Roberts_Clif »

Areas of importance to get you running

Configuration.h
Configuration_adv.h
Pins_ramps.h

Today we are only interested in
Configuration.h

Unzip the downloaded Marlin file to a folder named "Marlin-RC8BF-HICi3"

open folder "Marlin-RC8BF-HICi3"
load "Marlin-RC8BF-HICi3.ino" into a newer version of Aduino.IDE will not compile right on older versions
Click on "Configuration.h" tab

This is where we will be changing the configuration.
ieatacid
Reactions:
Posts: 45
Joined: August 12th, 2017, 1:48 pm
Location: Scranton, PA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP-03

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by ieatacid »

Yes, it's the lead screw in the image you posted.
ieatacid
Reactions:
Posts: 45
Joined: August 12th, 2017, 1:48 pm
Location: Scranton, PA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP-03

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by ieatacid »

Everything's loaded in Arduino IDE and I can view data over the serial monitor.
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by Roberts_Clif »

Ok then we believe this is a T8-8 lead screw

changes to your Marlin Configuration.h file would look like this
// Z Axis 3200, / 8m pitch leadscrew = 200*16 /8 = 400 :: (STEPS_PER_REVOLUTION_Z / PITCH_OF_Z_ROD)
#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT { 80, 80, 398, 94.496214 }
#define DEFAULT_MAX_FEEDRATE { 150, 150, 5, 25 }
#define DEFAULT_MAX_ACCELERATION { 3000, 3000, 100, 3000 }

#define DEFAULT_XJERK 5.0
#define DEFAULT_YJERK 5.0
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by Roberts_Clif »

Do you have a SN04-N Proximity sensor bed sensor with this unit.
ieatacid
Reactions:
Posts: 45
Joined: August 12th, 2017, 1:48 pm
Location: Scranton, PA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP-03

Re: Hictop 3DP-08: Firmware not working properly

Post by ieatacid »

Roberts_Clif wrote: August 13th, 2017, 12:09 am Ok then we believe this is a T8-8 lead screw

changes to your Marlin Configuration.h file would look like this
// Z Axis 3200, / 8m pitch leadscrew = 200*16 /8 = 400 :: (STEPS_PER_REVOLUTION_Z / PITCH_OF_Z_ROD)
#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT { 80, 80, 398, 94.496214 }
#define DEFAULT_MAX_FEEDRATE { 150, 150, 5, 25 }
#define DEFAULT_MAX_ACCELERATION { 3000, 3000, 100, 3000 }

#define DEFAULT_XJERK 5.0
#define DEFAULT_YJERK 5.0
Done.
Roberts_Clif wrote: August 13th, 2017, 12:16 am Do you have a SN04-N Proximity sensor bed sensor with this unit.
No, I do not.
Post Reply

Return to “Software and Firmware Discussion”