HICTOP - Software

Software and Firmware Discussion - related to source code, firmware updates, etc.
User avatar
LePaul
Posts: 1930
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker Original, Ultimaker 2
Contact:

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby LePaul » March 21st, 2016, 10:44 am

Nice progress! I'm hoping some of your HICTOP friends join into the conversation here! You've provided a lot of help for them

User avatar
Chip Luck
Posts: 190
Joined: February 11th, 2016, 9:12 am
Location: Central Florida
3D Printer(s): HICTOP Reprap Prusa I3
Contact:

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby Chip Luck » March 21st, 2016, 11:41 am

LePaul wrote:Nice progress! I'm hoping some of your HICTOP friends join into the conversation here! You've provided a lot of help for them


I'm trying, 2 weeks and they are still posting questions on the Facebook BB-8 Builders. Drives me nut's trying to sort through all the gibberish! I for the sake of sanity will no longer support a 'thread' in a Facebook post. Cannot for the life of me understand just WHY they will not join here, makes no logical sense at all. Some say "do not want to join <another> forum". Well, keep on trying the Facebook thread, or come here and enjoy phpBB!

Let me know if you can get those sub-categories completed, will help out a lot!

<throwing up hands> ;)

User avatar
LePaul
Posts: 1930
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker Original, Ultimaker 2
Contact:

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby LePaul » March 21st, 2016, 11:58 am

Done!

User avatar
LePaul
Posts: 1930
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker Original, Ultimaker 2
Contact:

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby LePaul » March 21st, 2016, 12:03 pm

Now i have to move the existing topics into the new categories you asked for. This will take me a few minutes :)

User avatar
LePaul
Posts: 1930
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker Original, Ultimaker 2
Contact:

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby LePaul » March 21st, 2016, 12:07 pm

Okay everything is now moved into the categories...all cleaned up!

User avatar
Chip Luck
Posts: 190
Joined: February 11th, 2016, 9:12 am
Location: Central Florida
3D Printer(s): HICTOP Reprap Prusa I3
Contact:

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby Chip Luck » March 21st, 2016, 8:09 pm

LePaul wrote:Okay everything is now moved into the categories...all cleaned up!


Thanks so much Paul, as Tony would say "looks grrrreat!". Cheers!

RednKentucky
Posts: 6
Joined: May 23rd, 2016, 9:12 pm
3D Printer(s): Hictop Migbot

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby RednKentucky » May 24th, 2016, 10:20 am

Chip where did you get both the rods an the psu?

User avatar
Chip Luck
Posts: 190
Joined: February 11th, 2016, 9:12 am
Location: Central Florida
3D Printer(s): HICTOP Reprap Prusa I3
Contact:

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby Chip Luck » June 13th, 2016, 1:19 pm

RednKentucky wrote:Chip where did you get both the rods an the psu?


PSU is in this hardware thread: viewtopic.php?f=52&t=184

Rods are from a machinist friend.

Also, try to keep the hardware related questions in the appropriate category: viewforum.php?f=52

Thanks and welcome!

Chip
---

sidyoung2
Posts: 1
Joined: June 22nd, 2016, 12:18 pm
3D Printer(s): HICTOP i3 prusa

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby sidyoung2 » June 22nd, 2016, 12:32 pm

I bought the HICTOP i3 prusa for my dad. I have a MakersToolWorks Medelmax 3.0 that runs on Repetier host. I'd like have my dad convert his HICTOP over to using Repetier so that we use the same software so I can help him debug better. And he lives 2000 miles away.

Please give me the steps needed to upgrade the FW on the HICTOP to use Repetier FW so I can correctly convey them to my dad.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Chip Luck
Posts: 190
Joined: February 11th, 2016, 9:12 am
Location: Central Florida
3D Printer(s): HICTOP Reprap Prusa I3
Contact:

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby Chip Luck » June 23rd, 2016, 8:20 am

sidyoung2 wrote:I bought the HICTOP i3 prusa for my dad. I have a MakersToolWorks Medelmax 3.0 that runs on Repetier host. I'd like have my dad convert his HICTOP over to using Repetier so that we use the same software so I can help him debug better. And he lives 2000 miles away.

Please give me the steps needed to upgrade the FW on the HICTOP to use Repetier FW so I can correctly convey them to my dad.

Thanks in advance.


There are separate threads for firmware and questions:

- A how to on firmware here: viewtopic.php?f=51&t=300
- Latest Marlin 1.1.0-RC6 source we are using is here: viewtopic.php?f=51&t=298

Read up on all you can before you start.

marknemo2000
Posts: 5
Joined: September 7th, 2016, 6:14 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop aluminum

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby marknemo2000 » September 8th, 2016, 3:17 am

Hi I realize this is off topic but I bought a aluminum extruded hictop and then made it bigger by chageing the rods and extrusions. It now has a 12" by 12" bed. the image is cut off.how do I chage the firmware - or other file to to make it 12x12? I am new to the form so they wont let me email anyone. mac 10.10.5 where is the configuration.h file so I can edit it?

thestepper
Posts: 3
Joined: September 16th, 2016, 11:05 pm
3D Printer(s): Hictop Prusa i3

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby thestepper » September 17th, 2016, 1:35 am

Big thanks to Chip and the info here, I have my Acrylic Hictop Prusa i3 back up and running, now with a bowden tube feed, after burning out the extruder E0 driver on the original red Hictop MKS Base 1.3 board. I used the info here to get Latest Marlin 1.1.0-RC6 source, Chip's Configuration.h, and edit pins file to change the pins to the E1 extruder port. This worked until I disconnected while powered on, burning out E1 port. Then I got a replacement cheap $40 board from Amazon, blue color and says MKS Base v 1.5 on it. Anyway, loaded unaltered pins files, config file, compile, upload and now have E0 extruder running again on the new board. Print quality improved with the config acceleration settings, with a tradeoff in speed compared to factory settings. I can go a little faster now with less mass, no stepper on head with bowden. Respect to all.

ericalbers
Posts: 1
Joined: December 4th, 2016, 10:43 pm
3D Printer(s): hictop prusa i3

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby ericalbers » December 4th, 2016, 10:49 pm

Hello,
I'm downloading the Marlin firmware from:
https://github.com/electronicsuk/HictopI3Newest

Can anyone confirm this is the correct location for the HICTOP firmware I see it has RAMPS 1.4

I load into Arduino and get a
In file included from sketch\Marlin_main.cpp:49:0:

sketch\Max31850.h:3:22: fatal error: OneWire.h: No such file or directory

#include <OneWire.h>

Is OneWire.h a library reference? Anyone know which library I need?
Thanks!

User avatar
Chaco
Posts: 22
Joined: September 12th, 2016, 6:48 pm
Location: OH
3D Printer(s): Hictop Prusa i3 3DP-08
Contact:

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby Chaco » December 7th, 2016, 9:58 pm

my Hictop came with the red board, 1.3

So you need to have the RAMPS 13 EFB selected

User avatar
Chip Luck
Posts: 190
Joined: February 11th, 2016, 9:12 am
Location: Central Florida
3D Printer(s): HICTOP Reprap Prusa I3
Contact:

Re: HICTOP - Software

Postby Chip Luck » December 9th, 2016, 11:43 am

ericalbers wrote:Hello,
I'm downloading the Marlin firmware from:
https://github.com/electronicsuk/HictopI3Newest

Can anyone confirm this is the correct location for the HICTOP firmware I see it has RAMPS 1.4

I load into Arduino and get a
In file included from sketch\Marlin_main.cpp:49:0:

sketch\Max31850.h:3:22: fatal error: OneWire.h: No such file or directory

#include <OneWire.h>

Is OneWire.h a library reference? Anyone know which library I need?
Thanks!


You seem to be learning, however the original Github source I used is from the actual Marlin software developers. Do not have time to check the source code you linked but I will tell you, you HAVE to get an official Marlin source from Github or you will be using someone else's software that might not be realtive. As suggested, you have to try and try again and learn the Configuration.h file and how to configure it for your printer. Again, ONLY use an official Marlin release. That's why I'm still on RC-6 modified to work on my printer, it works and it's official.

I twice have tried Hictop software, one source would not even compile, full of syntax errors like someone hacked it. One was a binary that was supposed to be for my printer - FAIL. So, the journey to learn this code was on. Start back with my version if you want, it is official Marlin. The Configuration.h file is only ONE part of the equation, the rest of the underlying code can be custom non-official..., custom LCD's that require special libraries, etc.

viewtopic.php?f=51&t=298 at the TOP of the thread. Yes you will be using 'my' Configuration.h if you do not edit it to your means.

---


Return to “Software and Firmware Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest