Trying to add 2nd extruder to HICTOP 3DP-08

Software and Firmware Discussion - related to source code, firmware updates, etc.
Post Reply
lllloydo
Reactions:
Posts: 5
Joined: July 21st, 2019, 3:49 pm
3D Printer(s): HICTOP 3DP-08

Trying to add 2nd extruder to HICTOP 3DP-08

Post by lllloydo »

Hello. First of all, I'm new to the forum but have been printing for almost 3 years now. My problem is that I would like to add a second extruder to my printer so that I can dry my filament before it prints. (Like kb0nly did on Thingiverse - https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3669673)

I've tried different versions of the HICTOP Marlin firmware that I've found through various posts here. The last one I tried was Marlin-1.1.9BF by Roberts_Clif. With the others I had various errors that I had no idea how to correct for (mostly syntax I think).
With Roberts_Clif's version, I got the following error:

#error "HEATER_1_PIN not defined for this board."

I'm using Arduino 1.8.6 and stock HICTOP 3DP-08. I suspect some of my issue might be the choice of board, processor and programmer under tools in Arduino. I can't seem to find my board. I think it's an AS 1648.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
lllloydo
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Trying to add 2nd extruder to HICTOP 3DP-08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

Hello

In order to fix "#error "HEATER_1_PIN not defined for this board." you need to select a dual extruder configuration.
As shown in Pins_RAMPS.h

#elif ENABLED(IS_RAMPS_EEF) // Hotend, Hotend, Fan
#define HEATER_1_PIN RAMPS_D9_PIN

This can be accomplished it several ways, One is by loosing the PWM Fan. The other is loosing the PWM Bed

#define BOARD_RAMPS_13_EEB 34 // RAMPS 1.3 (Power outputs: Hotend0, Hotend1, Bed)
#define BOARD_RAMPS_13_EEF 36 // RAMPS 1.3 (Power outputs: Hotend0, Hotend1, Fan)
#define BOARD_RAMPS_14_EEB 44 // RAMPS 1.4 (Power outputs: Hotend0, Hotend1, Bed)
#define BOARD_RAMPS_14_EEF 46 // RAMPS 1.4 (Power outputs: Hotend0, Hotend1, Fan)

Your best choice
This works with all Hictop board I have.
Will require the Hictop Controller that has both E0 and E1 output terminals.
#define BOARD_MKS_GEN_13 47 // MKS GEN v1.3 or 1.4

Looking at the firmware, I believe that this will get you the firmware configuration you want,
// Power outputs EFBF or EFBE
#define MOSFET_D_PIN 7

Or you should be able to enable extruder E1 using a ramps_13 or Ramps 14 by changing
pins_RAMPS.h

// Heaters / Fans
//
#ifndef MOSFET_D_PIN
#define MOSFET_D_PIN 7 // changed from -1 to enable Extruder E1
#endif

#ifndef RAMPS_D8_PIN
#define RAMPS_D8_PIN 8
#endif
#ifndef RAMPS_D9_PIN
#define RAMPS_D9_PIN 9
#endif
#ifndef RAMPS_D10_PIN
#define RAMPS_D10_PIN 10
#endif
lllloydo
Reactions:
Posts: 5
Joined: July 21st, 2019, 3:49 pm
3D Printer(s): HICTOP 3DP-08

Re: Trying to add 2nd extruder to HICTOP 3DP-08

Post by lllloydo »

Thank you. So, I changed the board in config.h and MOSFET_D_PIN to 7 from -1 in pins.RAMPS.h and now I have another error message. (Although in this case, it seems like several error messages)
Sorry to be a pain. Not much clue when it comes to programming.

Arduino: 1.8.6 (Windows 10), Board: "Arduino/Genuino Mega or Mega 2560, ATmega2560 (Mega 2560)"

In file included from sketch\HAL.h:33:0,
from sketch\MarlinConfig.h:39,
from sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:29:

Sd2Card.h:100:39: error: pasting "/* SPI Master In Slave Out pin*/" and "_DDR" does not give a valid preprocessing token

#define SPI_MISO_PIN MISO_PIN // SPI Master In Slave Out pin
^
sketch\fastio.h:86:42: note: in definition of macro '_SET_INPUT'

#define _SET_INPUT(IO) CBI(DIO ## IO ## _DDR, DIO ## IO ## _PIN)
^
sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:316:3: note: in expansion of macro 'SET_INPUT'

SET_INPUT(SPI_MISO_PIN);
^
sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:316:13: note: in expansion of macro 'SPI_MISO_PIN'

SET_INPUT(SPI_MISO_PIN);

^
Sd2Card.h:100:39: error: pasting "/* SPI Master In Slave Out pin*/" and "_PIN" does not give a valid preprocessing token

#define SPI_MISO_PIN MISO_PIN // SPI Master In Slave Out pin

^
sketch\fastio.h:86:61: note: in definition of macro '_SET_INPUT'

#define _SET_INPUT(IO) CBI(DIO ## IO ## _DDR, DIO ## IO ## _PIN)

^
sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:316:3: note: in expansion of macro 'SET_INPUT'

SET_INPUT(SPI_MISO_PIN);

^
sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:316:13: note: in expansion of macro 'SPI_MISO_PIN'

SET_INPUT(SPI_MISO_PIN);

^
Sd2Card.h:99:39: error: pasting "/* SPI Master Out Slave In pin*/" and "_DDR" does not give a valid preprocessing token

#define SPI_MOSI_PIN MOSI_PIN // SPI Master Out Slave In pin

^
sketch\fastio.h:87:42: note: in definition of macro '_SET_OUTPUT'

#define _SET_OUTPUT(IO) SBI(DIO ## IO ## _DDR, DIO ## IO ## _PIN)

^
sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:317:3: note: in expansion of macro 'SET_OUTPUT'

SET_OUTPUT(SPI_MOSI_PIN);

^
sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:317:14: note: in expansion of macro 'SPI_MOSI_PIN'

SET_OUTPUT(SPI_MOSI_PIN);

^
Sd2Card.h:99:39: error: pasting "/* SPI Master Out Slave In pin*/" and "_PIN" does not give a valid preprocessing token

#define SPI_MOSI_PIN MOSI_PIN // SPI Master Out Slave In pin

^
sketch\fastio.h:87:61: note: in definition of macro '_SET_OUTPUT'

#define _SET_OUTPUT(IO) SBI(DIO ## IO ## _DDR, DIO ## IO ## _PIN)

^
sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:317:3: note: in expansion of macro 'SET_OUTPUT'

SET_OUTPUT(SPI_MOSI_PIN);

^
sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:317:14: note: in expansion of macro 'SPI_MOSI_PIN'

SET_OUTPUT(SPI_MOSI_PIN);

^
Sd2Card.h:101:39: error: pasting "/* SPI Clock pin*/" and "_DDR" does not give a valid preprocessing token

#define SPI_SCK_PIN SCK_PIN // SPI Clock pin

^
sketch\fastio.h:87:42: note: in definition of macro '_SET_OUTPUT'

#define _SET_OUTPUT(IO) SBI(DIO ## IO ## _DDR, DIO ## IO ## _PIN)

^
sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:318:3: note: in expansion of macro 'SET_OUTPUT'

SET_OUTPUT(SPI_SCK_PIN);

^
sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:318:14: note: in expansion of macro 'SPI_SCK_PIN'

SET_OUTPUT(SPI_SCK_PIN);

^
Sd2Card.h:101:39: error: pasting "/* SPI Clock pin*/" and "_PIN" does not give a valid preprocessing token

#define SPI_SCK_PIN SCK_PIN // SPI Clock pin

^
sketch\fastio.h:87:61: note: in definition of macro '_SET_OUTPUT'

#define _SET_OUTPUT(IO) SBI(DIO ## IO ## _DDR, DIO ## IO ## _PIN)

^
sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:318:3: note: in expansion of macro 'SET_OUTPUT'

SET_OUTPUT(SPI_SCK_PIN);

^
sketch\Sd2Card.cpp:318:14: note: in expansion of macro 'SPI_SCK_PIN'

SET_OUTPUT(SPI_SCK_PIN);

^
exit status 1
pasting "/* SPI Master In Slave Out pin*/" and "_DDR" does not give a valid preprocessing token

This report would have more information with
"Show verbose output during compilation"
option enabled in File -> Preferences.
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Trying to add 2nd extruder to HICTOP 3DP-08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

7-zip can be used to compress your Marlin Firmware file folder as to post it on a share server like Google Drive.

After downloading and installing 7-Zip Right click on the Marlin folder select 7-zip from the drop down list then select add to "your Marlin folder filename".zip.

I will check out what the errors are, Please include what version of marlin you are using..
lllloydo
Reactions:
Posts: 5
Joined: July 21st, 2019, 3:49 pm
3D Printer(s): HICTOP 3DP-08

Re: Trying to add 2nd extruder to HICTOP 3DP-08

Post by lllloydo »

Here's the link to my Google drive:
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Trying to add 2nd extruder to HICTOP 3DP-08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

OK compiled your Marlin 1.1.9BF v2
Image3.jpg
Error "PREHEAT_2_TEMP_HOTEND"

Removed "//"

#define PREHEAT_2_TEMP_HOTEND 228
#define PREHEAT_2_TEMP_BED 96
#define PREHEAT_2_FAN_SPEED 0 // Value from 0 to 255
Image4.jpg
Compiles with no errors using Arduino IDE 1.8.8
lllloydo
Reactions:
Posts: 5
Joined: July 21st, 2019, 3:49 pm
3D Printer(s): HICTOP 3DP-08

Re: Trying to add 2nd extruder to HICTOP 3DP-08

Post by lllloydo »

Thank you very much! I only had to make a couple of changes for my printer to home properly. The direction of the z-axis. (It tried to go up for homing) (INVERT_Z_DIR true (from false) and un-comment #define Z_SAFE_HOMING.

Can I send you a donation or something for your time and effort?
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Trying to add 2nd extruder to HICTOP 3DP-08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

Thank you very much, However I do this for the fun and learning experience.

However in order to maintain this Great 3D Printing Forum web site does require donations.
In order to continue this great service to all new 3D Printer enthusiast.
If you can and want to help then click the " Donate button" above to support the Forum.

Thank You.
lllloydo
Reactions:
Posts: 5
Joined: July 21st, 2019, 3:49 pm
3D Printer(s): HICTOP 3DP-08

Re: Trying to add 2nd extruder to HICTOP 3DP-08

Post by lllloydo »

Thanks again. I will look into that option.

Well, I finally had time to actually print something. I did also have to change the extruder direction. But otherwise it works great. It's actually a little quieter than it used to be. Mostly in the x and y axes. It's not as jerky in the movements.
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Trying to add 2nd extruder to HICTOP 3DP-08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

Marlin 1.1.9bf has S_CURVE_ACCELERATION enabled it has been fine tuned for fastest possible Hictop printing.
Marlin 2.0 is a little faster having JUNCTION_DEVIATION enabled this too helps increase the print quality.

I have not tried them though TL-Smoothers reduce Salmon Skinning when used with Allegro A4988 drivers.
These are available in both 4 diode, and 8 diode version. The best results are obtained with the 8 diode versions
User avatar
Roberts_Clif
Reactions:
Posts: 1372
Joined: March 25th, 2017, 8:17 am
Location: Washington, State USA
3D Printer(s): Hictop 3DP11/12

Re: Trying to add 2nd extruder to HICTOP 3DP-08

Post by Roberts_Clif »

Hello @lllloydo;

Did you ever get the information you needed to get the 2nd extruder working.
Post Reply

Return to “Software and Firmware Discussion”