Changing nozzles and shell thickness

Doesn't fit a specific category here? Place it here!
User avatar
LePaul
Posts: 2093
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker Original HBK, Ultimaker 2+
Contact:

Changing nozzles and shell thickness

Postby LePaul » March 17th, 2016, 2:15 pm

Toying around in Cura, I noticed when I changed the nozzle size (Under Advanced) to 0.6, the Shell Thickness turned yellow, indicating that should be changed.

It didn't offer me a tip/solution on what should be used as it does in most areas when hovered over

I have some large prints to do in the future and curious if a 0.6 mm nozzle is suitable for 0.2 layer height prints?

reibuehl
Posts: 351
Joined: February 9th, 2016, 9:56 am
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

Re: Changing nozzles and shell thickness

Postby reibuehl » March 17th, 2016, 2:43 pm

I assume you had a shell thickness set that is not a multiple of 0.6 mm. The outer shell (that is not the layer height) has to be a multiple of the nozzle diameter, e.g. Shell 0.6 equals 1 line with the 0.6 nozzle, 1.2 equals 2 lines per layer as outside. A outside shell thickness of 0.8 however can not be printed as the printer can't print 1,5 lines :-)

User avatar
LePaul
Posts: 2093
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker Original HBK, Ultimaker 2+
Contact:

Re: Changing nozzles and shell thickness

Postby LePaul » March 18th, 2016, 11:20 am

Okay, that's helpful. I wasn't sure what the math was


Return to “General Filament & Nozzle chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest