Cryptolockers

Anything you want to chat about...it doesn't have to be related to 3D printing!
Post Reply
User avatar
ivan.akapulko
Reactions:
Posts: 389
Joined: February 11th, 2016, 11:27 am
Location: Ust-Kamenogorsk, Kazakhstan
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2
Contact:

Cryptolockers

Post by ivan.akapulko » January 20th, 2017, 9:17 am

Hi gang!
Recently, among my clients outside the country ( I administer the servers remotely) many cases where the virus encrypts everything on your hard drive and demands a ransom in bitcoins. Found a good hack, allowing in some cases to avoid this: add the layout of the Russian language in the system. In the case of Cerber locker this eliminates a huge headache. I hope this will help someone.

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 3108
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, FT-5, CR-10, CR-10S, Tevo Tornado
Contact:

Re: Cryptolockers

Post by LePaul » January 20th, 2017, 10:22 am

Did you see Adobe had an emergency patch to address this too?

User avatar
ivan.akapulko
Reactions:
Posts: 389
Joined: February 11th, 2016, 11:27 am
Location: Ust-Kamenogorsk, Kazakhstan
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2
Contact:

Re: Cryptolockers

Post by ivan.akapulko » January 20th, 2017, 10:40 am

Adobe? Their software is so full of holes that every month they have up to ten security patches in a row. Worst of all, in Chromium doesn't have a fully compatible Java machine. Almost all of the functionality of the state websites to check RSA and GOST certificates, and work only with Oracle Java. Because of this we have to engage in "shamanism" or to put unsafe outdated browser versions. It is extremely annoying.

Post Reply

Return to “Off Topics!”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests