UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Topics related to printer firmware
Post Reply
User avatar
Amedee
Reactions:
Posts: 599
Joined: February 15th, 2016, 11:10 am
Location: Brussels, Belgium
3D Printer(s): UMO / UMO+
Contact:

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by Amedee »

I was thinking of saving the LED brightness in the preferences...

... But we could go from 0 to saved settings with a fade-in ;)
User avatar
Neotko
Reactions:
Posts: 1142
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 7:02 pm
Location: Madrid
3D Printer(s): UMO+ x2.5
Contact:

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by Neotko »

Ohh that could be so sweet!
User avatar
Amedee
Reactions:
Posts: 599
Joined: February 15th, 2016, 11:10 am
Location: Brussels, Belgium
3D Printer(s): UMO / UMO+
Contact:

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by Amedee »

Done!

(In the experimental branch, which has been pulled on the build system as well)
User avatar
Neotko
Reactions:
Posts: 1142
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 7:02 pm
Location: Madrid
3D Printer(s): UMO+ x2.5
Contact:

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by Neotko »

Woohoo. Gonna test right away!
User avatar
Neotko
Reactions:
Posts: 1142
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 7:02 pm
Location: Madrid
3D Printer(s): UMO+ x2.5
Contact:

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by Neotko »

Hahahaha this it's brilliant men, literally!



Amedee for president!

So sweet.

Just a question, I suppose that after changing the led power I needed to save settings to eprom right? Or does it write it as soon as you change the led number? Just to know because my instinct was to just store settings.

Tested on my 3 machines, works like a charm.
User avatar
Amedee
Reactions:
Posts: 599
Joined: February 15th, 2016, 11:10 am
Location: Brussels, Belgium
3D Printer(s): UMO / UMO+
Contact:

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by Amedee »

Yes indeed, you need to save ;-)
User avatar
drayson
Reactions:
Posts: 254
Joined: February 15th, 2016, 5:04 am
Location: Graz, Austria
3D Printer(s): UMO with mods :-)

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by drayson »

Yesterday I tied the filament runout sensor :-)
It detects and initiates M600 as it should, moves to a safe position and restracts, but the interestingly when new filament is loaded, it wont´move the filament to the nozzle again...
Has anybody of ou the same issue?
Amedee, maybe you could take a look...
User avatar
Amedee
Reactions:
Posts: 599
Joined: February 15th, 2016, 11:10 am
Location: Brussels, Belgium
3D Printer(s): UMO / UMO+
Contact:

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by Amedee »

drayson wrote:but the interestingly when new filament is loaded, it wont´move the filament to the nozzle again...
What do you mean? I am not sure to understand...
Is it:
- Extruder won't work after the swap?
or
- Extruder is not pushing the filament to the nozzle before restarting? (If this is the case, afaik the UMO does not do that, you have to ensure it is ready to print)
or
- something else?
User avatar
drayson
Reactions:
Posts: 254
Joined: February 15th, 2016, 5:04 am
Location: Graz, Austria
3D Printer(s): UMO with mods :-)

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by drayson »

Amedee wrote:
drayson wrote:but the interestingly when new filament is loaded, it wont´move the filament to the nozzle again...
- Extruder is not pushing the filament to the nozzle before restarting? (If this is the case, afaik the UMO does not do that, you have to ensure it is ready ?
It´s this one. so you mean that I have to prime the nozzle manually. Ok, that sounds logical as the FW does not know the position of the filament.
Sorry, my fault/misunderstanding.
User avatar
Amedee
Reactions:
Posts: 599
Joined: February 15th, 2016, 11:10 am
Location: Brussels, Belgium
3D Printer(s): UMO / UMO+
Contact:

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by Amedee »

Yes, the expected behaviour should be:
  1. Retract 2mm (Or value from the E parameter)
  2. Lift Z 10mm (Or Z value)
  3. Move 'home' (Or X/Y values)
  4. Retract 10cm (or L value)
  5. Wait until filament is changed
  6. Move back to original X/Y
  7. Move Z back on the print
  8. Push 2mm (Or E value -- set back pressure in the bowden)
The 'long retract' from step 4 is not applied back after the pause, as it is expected that you put the filament completely back in place.
User avatar
drayson
Reactions:
Posts: 254
Joined: February 15th, 2016, 5:04 am
Location: Graz, Austria
3D Printer(s): UMO with mods :-)

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by drayson »

Thank you for explaination - helps a lot as I thought first I made a mistake in my settings.

I also tried to use the filament sensor code as a base for my "stop button" but it seems that just replacing enquecommand_P(PSTR(FILAMENT_RUNOUT_SCRIPT));" in marlin_main.cpp
by
enquecommand_P(PSTR(lcd_sdcard_stop()));
had not the expected impact :-)

As more I´m playing around with programming as more I think I learned the wrong (mechanical engineering) in school :-)
User avatar
martin-bienz
Reactions:
Posts: 172
Joined: February 22nd, 2016, 2:42 am
Location: Switzerland
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker Original, prusa i3 mk2

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by martin-bienz »

Guys, I don't want to interupt your discussion, just a quick question :)
When my UMO is printing and I issue an M600 (serial), is this what happens also? Or is this only with Amedee special FW?
User avatar
Amedee
Reactions:
Posts: 599
Joined: February 15th, 2016, 11:10 am
Location: Brussels, Belgium
3D Printer(s): UMO / UMO+
Contact:

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by Amedee »

Right ;)

enquecommand add a GCode command in the execution queue -- so you can only add GCode.

lcd_card_stop() is not GCode, it is a call to a function.

The C language is very powerful, but it allows you to do almost anything without too much checking with very unexpected results :roll:
User avatar
Amedee
Reactions:
Posts: 599
Joined: February 15th, 2016, 11:10 am
Location: Brussels, Belgium
3D Printer(s): UMO / UMO+
Contact:

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by Amedee »

martin-bienz wrote:Guys, I don't want to interupt your discussion, just a quick question :)
When my UMO is printing and I issue an M600 (serial), is this what happens also? Or is this only with Amedee special FW?
What I described above is exaclty what M600 is doing. The filament detection just enqueues an M600.

Although I have some plans to improve this, I have not touched the M600 handling, so it is still 'standard', which means you can only restart the print with a click on the controller. You cannot restart remotely
User avatar
martin-bienz
Reactions:
Posts: 172
Joined: February 22nd, 2016, 2:42 am
Location: Switzerland
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker Original, prusa i3 mk2

Re: UMO / UMO+ Firmware

Post by martin-bienz »

Thank you.
Amedee wrote: You cannot restart remotely
Which makes sense, I guess. :)
Post Reply

Return to “Firmware”