Noob with tons of questions

Discussion of ANY 3D printing topic you desire!
GlassOnion
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): n/a

Noob with tons of questions

Post by GlassOnion »

So hi my name is GlassOnion and I hail from the south east of the US. I am looking to get into 3D printing as I think it has developed enough to where it's achievable for the hobbyist and tinkerer of which I am firmly ensconced. I have been doing my research. Not to toot my own horn but I'm fairly computer savvy. My career as a tinkerer and hobbyist started back in the 70s. But as far as owning a 3D printer, I'm a noob of the noobiest.

There are so many terms and acronyms. I now know what people who haven't a clue about computers, feels when they go to buy one and the sales dude is yammering on about all these "features". I want to know what the true features are and what is hype.

Firstly my budget is around the $300 mark.

I have selected 6 printers from talking to others and researching. I shortened the urls because Amazon has the world's longest urls. I just didn't want any one to think I was hot linking to nefarious things:

Comgrow Creality Ender 3 3D Printer: https://goo.gl/mufVXz

SainSmart x Anet A8 Prusa i3 3D Printer: https://goo.gl/7CZpcZ

FLSUN 3d Printer Prusa i3 Diy Kit Auto leveling RepRap: https://goo.gl/24v2gZ

New Upgraded High Precision Auto Leveling Desktop DIY Reprap Prusa i3 3D Printer Kit: https://goo.gl/bqqhei

REPRAPGURU Black DIY Prusa I3 3D Printer Kit: https://goo.gl/4miiKp

TEVO Tarantula I3 Aluminium Extrusion 3D Printer Kit Auto and Large Bed 3D Printing With Aibecy Cleaning Cloth 2 Rolls Filament 8GB Memory Card: https://goo.gl/64GaRD

Of these printers, what features between them should I look for so I can compare apples to apples?

I am sure memory is just as important as it would be in a high volume laser printer at work. Can these be upgraded?