J-Head not working.

Discussion of ANY 3D printing topic you desire!
Lez0
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): JGAurora A5S, Anycubic Photon, Saturn 2

J-Head not working.

Post by Lez0 »

Hi
I have a Folger FT5 and have made a new head for it using a J-head hot end. I also replaced the extruder with a metal one.
I would love to replace the existing print head with something better.
Everything seems to be OK except the nozzle only works for about 2 minutes then seems to get blocked.
I have cleared it a few times and there is only plastic in the nozzle tip.
The plastic I pulled out look OK to me but I am no expert.
Has anybody had a similar problem with these hot-ends, I have tried 2 from different companies and get the same result.

Thanks

Lez
Attachments
The plastic I pulled out.
The plastic I pulled out.
Custom head I made
Custom head I made
jonnybischof
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): UMO

Re: J-Head not working.

Post by jonnybischof »

It could be that your filament is heated too far "up" into the hotend, which makes it jam. The rings tha show up about 20mm (guessed) from the nozzle in your pictures show that the filament was soft at the point where the PTFE tube ends and the metal channel begins. As far as I know, that shouldn't be the case.
Maybe the fan which cools the fins is not on, or not strong enough? (Must be 100% on at all times, even while heating up).

What is your retraction distance setting? With all-metal hotends you usually have to go to a lower setting (like 2-3 mm) rather than the Ultimaker (Cura) standard of 4-5 mm. Makes a big difference since the melted filament doesn't get pulled up into the cold zone as much.

You might also try just lowering the printing temperature by a few degrees. Anything that helps keeping the "cold zone" as cool as possible.
Lez0
Reactions:

Post by Lez0 »

Hi
Thanks for the reply.
Your guess is very good it's 18mm!
It seems the filament is melting in the PTFE, I don't think this should happen.