gMax 1.5+ 3D printer

User avatar
LePaul
Posts: 2392
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5
Contact:

gMax 1.5+ 3D printer

Postby LePaul » December 6th, 2016, 2:53 pm

A bit cheaper than an Ultimaker 3, HUGE 16 in x 16 in x 21 in print volume, dual nozzle ....looks impressive

http://www.gcreate.com/gmax-15-2016-series

User avatar
Meduza
Posts: 257
Joined: February 10th, 2016, 8:08 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
3D Printer(s): UM2+, F1+ at home (F2, UM2EX+, etc at work)
Contact:

Re: gMax 1.5+ 3D printer

Postby Meduza » December 7th, 2016, 3:15 am

Well... it got huge printing volume, but it also got a open design, a moving bed, dual nozzle without any kind of nozzle-lift, and a bunch of printed parts on a $3000 printer... not too impressed...

User avatar
LePaul
Posts: 2392
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5
Contact:

Re: gMax 1.5+ 3D printer

Postby LePaul » December 7th, 2016, 1:22 pm

If Ultimaker could offer that sort of build volume....especially for the projects I'm working on...that would be ideal
As for the rest, I agree.

danilius
Posts: 118
Joined: April 21st, 2016, 5:29 pm
Location: Salford, United Kingdom
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

Re: gMax 1.5+ 3D printer

Postby danilius » December 7th, 2016, 1:52 pm

It really does not look very rigid.

User avatar
Neotko
Posts: 1047
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 7:02 pm
Location: Madrid
3D Printer(s): UMO+ x2.5
Contact:

Re: gMax 1.5+ 3D printer

Postby Neotko » December 7th, 2016, 2:29 pm

LePaul wrote:If Ultimaker could offer that sort of build volume....especially for the projects I'm working on...that would be ideal
As for the rest, I agree.


Time...

User avatar
LePaul
Posts: 2392
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5
Contact:

Re: gMax 1.5+ 3D printer

Postby LePaul » December 7th, 2016, 2:52 pm

Well that's the big compromise, isn't it?

If you want to wait around for Ultimaker or someone else to make a large scale printer, you can certainly do so.

The Raise3D is an OK printer if all you ever want to do is PLA. With the non-adjustble fan, it's sort of stuck there. I'll give it credit for being enclosed and huge. But for the same money, the gmax would still win me over, given the size, auto bed leveling and good reviews I've read on it. (I've found two for Raise3D)

User avatar
Neotko
Posts: 1047
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 7:02 pm
Location: Madrid
3D Printer(s): UMO+ x2.5
Contact:

Re: gMax 1.5+ 3D printer

Postby Neotko » December 7th, 2016, 4:11 pm

Ok then don't :D

But knowing your posts you need a printer that:

- Works with Cura
- Is open source for spare parts
- Has a community of users that can solve 99% of the issues with or without hacks.

So...

User avatar
LePaul
Posts: 2392
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5
Contact:

Re: gMax 1.5+ 3D printer

Postby LePaul » December 7th, 2016, 4:14 pm

Well if Ultimaker has plans to release a larger version, I'd love to see some trickling of information :)

User avatar
Neotko
Posts: 1047
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 7:02 pm
Location: Madrid
3D Printer(s): UMO+ x2.5
Contact:

Re: gMax 1.5+ 3D printer

Postby Neotko » December 7th, 2016, 4:15 pm

They said on an interview on some wee that they would make a bigger machine.

User avatar
LePaul
Posts: 2392
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5
Contact:

Re: gMax 1.5+ 3D printer

Postby LePaul » December 7th, 2016, 4:32 pm

Any timeline?

Because I heard we're going to Mars soon, too :)

User avatar
Izzy
Posts: 554
Joined: February 12th, 2016, 2:29 am
Location: England
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

Re: gMax 1.5+ 3D printer

Postby Izzy » December 7th, 2016, 5:15 pm

There is a mod to the original for a double width machine, as a starting point.
Sticking ones head above the parapet :twisted:, but if you were to build a large frame, and obtain long shafts for the X&Y axis and use an extended's Z axis (or perhaps a pair)
Would the stock electronics be able to manage it, and would it be simple to mod cura/S3D to drive it :-o
Izzy.


Return to “General Large Scale Printer Area”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests