CraftWare slicer

Post Reply
danilius
Reactions:
Posts: 119
Joined: April 21st, 2016, 5:29 pm
Location: Salford, United Kingdom
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

CraftWare slicer

Post by danilius » May 18th, 2016, 6:23 am

Yay! First post in this section. How exciting.

Anyone seen the CraftWare slicer? This really raised the bar. Slicing speed is insane. Visuals are drop-dead gorgeous, with some really amazing tools for checking how things will print. It does not have every tweak I would like to see, and I have yet to actually print anything with it yet, but wow. Cura really has some serious competition here in terms of UI and bla.

User avatar
Izzy
Reactions:
Posts: 591
Joined: February 12th, 2016, 2:29 am
Location: England
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

Re: CraftWare slicer

Post by Izzy » June 5th, 2016, 2:09 pm

I've been looking at this slicer today, looks nice, the only thing i'm not sure of is how to set the setting up to my UM2, I can see under options the build volume but is the 0,0 position Front Left Corner or Centre?
is there any thing else we need to set for a UM2?
Izzy.

User avatar
Izzy
Reactions:
Posts: 591
Joined: February 12th, 2016, 2:29 am
Location: England
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

Re: CraftWare slicer

Post by Izzy » June 5th, 2016, 2:29 pm

I did find this under the Craftware forum but im not sure what we need to input
https://craftunique.com/forums/view-thread/1817
Izzy.

danilius
Reactions:
Posts: 119
Joined: April 21st, 2016, 5:29 pm
Location: Salford, United Kingdom
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

Re: CraftWare slicer

Post by danilius » June 5th, 2016, 2:58 pm

Izzy wrote:I've been looking at this slicer today, looks nice, the only thing i'm not sure of is how to set the setting up to my UM2, I can see under options the build volume but is the 0,0 position Front Left Corner or Centre?
is there any thing else we need to set for a UM2?
Front left. I had a load of custom gcode that somehow or another got wiped. The biggest issue vis-a-vis the UM2 is that there are no variables available in g-code, so your startup temps have to be hardcoded.

I have been playing around with it anyway and am really impressed by the GUI, less so by the slicing and gcode that it generated.

User avatar
Izzy
Reactions:
Posts: 591
Joined: February 12th, 2016, 2:29 am
Location: England
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

Re: CraftWare slicer

Post by Izzy » June 5th, 2016, 3:12 pm

The gUI interface does look good, I like some of the options in Cura beta, I wish they would add triangular and hexagonal in fill options and off course improve the look of the interface, the Craftware display does look good, I like the fact you have the ability to see the gCode layer by layer.
Cura could improve the slicing by colour on the speed of thickness and the infill, using colour to show speed.
Izzy.

danilius
Reactions:
Posts: 119
Joined: April 21st, 2016, 5:29 pm
Location: Salford, United Kingdom
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

Re: CraftWare slicer

Post by danilius » June 5th, 2016, 4:44 pm

You can play the gcode step-by-step as well with the sliders at the bottom. Now *that* is pretty useful as well.

User avatar
Meduza
Reactions:
Posts: 280
Joined: February 10th, 2016, 8:08 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
3D Printer(s): UM2+, UM3 (F2, UM2EX+ UM3EX, etc at work)
Contact:

Re: CraftWare slicer

Post by Meduza » June 6th, 2016, 10:39 am

Off-topic: @Izzy, why would you use hexagonal infill structure? from what i have seen it does not increase the strength of the print and it takes a lot longer time to print...?

On-topic: I would love if Cura got the Craftware quality and speed of the layer view...

User avatar
Izzy
Reactions:
Posts: 591
Joined: February 12th, 2016, 2:29 am
Location: England
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

Re: CraftWare slicer

Post by Izzy » June 6th, 2016, 2:22 pm

Hi Meduza,
Lazy method of a honeycomb :lol:
Izzy.

User avatar
Chaco
Reactions:
Posts: 40
Joined: September 12th, 2016, 6:48 pm
Location: OH
3D Printer(s): HyperCube & Hictop Prusa i3 3DP-08
Contact:

Re: CraftWare slicer

Post by Chaco » December 7th, 2016, 11:06 pm

i love Craftware, i find it to be just as good as S3D, i just wish i could host print to my reprap i3. :(

but if i want easy to remove supports, or good quality. this is my go to slicer

GrueMaster
Reactions:
Posts: 153
Joined: March 15th, 2017, 8:46 pm
Location: Oregon
3D Printer(s): HICTOP 3DP-17

Re: CraftWare slicer

Post by GrueMaster » March 23rd, 2017, 1:26 am

Just found this thread and went off to try out Craftware. So far, I see a lot of potential. Being a Linux native, I cringe at some of the basics that are missing (lack of USB Printing support, 32bit only), but the rest is really solid. First print going now with very fine details and custom supports. Will see in an hour or so how well it does.

Post Reply

Return to “Other Slicing programs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest