Page 1 of 1

print only shell, not walls

Posted: March 24th, 2018, 10:24 am
by cla68
Hello, it's first time I post in this forum. I use 3d printer since three years, just for hobbies. I have a M3D and then I got a Mooz2. M3D has its own slicing software integrated. I have a simple model (attached) which I successfully printed with M3D. Now I try using Cura (3.2.1). Here attached settings. For same model printed I get only outer shell, no walls, no base thickess. May I get a help? thanks.

Re: print only shell, not walls

Posted: March 24th, 2018, 10:50 am
by GrueMaster
I checked your model on my system (same Cura), and the only way to get it to do what you are saying is if I have Spiralize Outer Contour enabled under Special Modes. Check that setting.

Re: print only shell, not walls

Posted: March 24th, 2018, 11:59 am
by cla68
Yes, the option 'Spiralize Outer Contour' is enabled. So, I should disable it and re-try, correct? thanks :-)

Re: print only shell, not walls

Posted: March 24th, 2018, 7:21 pm
by LePaul
Yes shut that off

Re: print only shell, not walls

Posted: March 25th, 2018, 7:01 am
by cla68
It works, thanks!
I do not know Cura in details. One question: in my model posted there is a small hole in vertical, at the mid of a simple cylinder, a sort of glass. The layers printed at the same height of hole are not very good, those printed inside the part. I wonder if I could test some alternative settings which could get rid of such 'faulty' layers.

Re: print only shell, not walls

Posted: March 26th, 2018, 11:12 am
by Roberts_Clif
Here are my Cura settings for 2.6.2 they are importable to 3.2.1
Cura 2.6.2.zip
(2.19 KiB) Downloaded 28 times

Re: print only shell, not walls

Posted: March 27th, 2018, 5:28 am
by cla68
Thanks. I am going to try the version 0.2 mm. Thanks