Page 1 of 1

Cura 2.3.1 clipping a model?

Posted: December 19th, 2016, 10:16 am
by LePaul
Screen shot in Cura 15.04.2
mold2.JPG
Exact same model in Cura 2.3.1
mold1.JPG
It barely fits the bed....I have to remove all brim/skirt lines, etc

But note the top is missing (especially the 4 round pillars in each corner, as this is part of a molded part)

Re: Cura 2.3.1 clipping a model?

Posted: December 19th, 2016, 11:51 am
by Amedee
For the fitting it depends on the configured machine size -- on my UMO I am always tweaking the values to get the maximum possible size.

For the missing pieces, the model might not be manifold. Try the 'Mesh Fixes' in the Cura 2.3 options. By default they are all disabled while I think that in legacy Cura the Combine Type-A is checked by default.

Re: Cura 2.3.1 clipping a model?

Posted: December 19th, 2016, 12:48 pm
by LePaul
I searched for "mesh" and found "Infill Mesh" (already checked on) and "Infill Mesh Order" (off, checked on now)

No change

Both Cura's set to Ultimaker 2

Weird. Works fine is S3D (but shows a huge print time of 50 hours to Cura's 1D 7h)

Re: Cura 2.3.1 clipping a model?

Posted: December 19th, 2016, 1:26 pm
by Amedee
These ones:
Screen Shot 2016-12-19 at 19.25.12.png
Screen Shot 2016-12-19 at 19.25.12.png (1.23 MiB) Viewed 2702 times

Re: Cura 2.3.1 clipping a model?

Posted: December 19th, 2016, 2:41 pm
by LePaul
I turned those all on.....still missing items the old Cura and S3D see

Re: Cura 2.3.1 clipping a model?

Posted: December 19th, 2016, 2:55 pm
by Amedee
:cry:

Re: Cura 2.3.1 clipping a model?

Posted: December 19th, 2016, 3:07 pm
by LePaul
Exactly...how weird.

Re: Cura 2.3.1 clipping a model?

Posted: December 19th, 2016, 3:59 pm
by Amedee
Can you post the STL somewhere?

Re: Cura 2.3.1 clipping a model?

Posted: December 19th, 2016, 6:34 pm
by LePaul
I emailed it to Nallath for him to take a peek at

Re: Cura 2.3.1 clipping a model?

Posted: December 20th, 2016, 3:54 am
by nallath
I think it has something to do with it being an ASCII stl. We've had some problems with those a while ago, and it seems not all of them are gone :(

Re: Cura 2.3.1 clipping a model?

Posted: December 20th, 2016, 9:11 am
by LePaul
Thanks for the quick reply