2.3 beta

Discussion of Ultimaker's open-source Cura software
danilius
Reactions:
Posts: 119
Joined: April 21st, 2016, 5:29 pm
Location: Salford, United Kingdom
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by danilius » October 21st, 2016, 6:47 am

Oh nallath you naughty boy. It's a bit inconvenient to go through several clicks to get to that, but what with all the changes I'm pretty pleased anyway. It is way faster now, and even my crazy huge models load in a blink of an eye, and don't take too long to slice.

All in all, the new Cura is really a breath of fresh air. Superb work.

nallath
Reactions:
Posts: 226
Joined: February 16th, 2016, 3:12 am
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by nallath » October 21st, 2016, 8:27 am

We've really focused on speed the past release (that and the um3 of-course). Next release will be mostly on stability, getting more automatic tests and a few features.

Anders Olsson
Reactions:
Posts: 398
Joined: February 8th, 2016, 8:37 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
3D Printer(s): UM2 UM2E, UM2Go, UM3, Delta Tower, Form 1+, Form 2
Contact:

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by Anders Olsson » October 21st, 2016, 8:56 am

nallath wrote:It's there. I sneakily added it.
Could you by any chance sneak in an option that makes the nozzle size easily available on all printer models too? :-)

nallath
Reactions:
Posts: 226
Joined: February 16th, 2016, 3:12 am
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by nallath » October 21st, 2016, 9:44 am

eeeh. Probably not. But just changing line_width should do just the same for (almost) all intents and purposes.

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 2577
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5
Contact:

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by LePaul » October 21st, 2016, 10:10 am

Is the beta link off the website? I was looking for the beta to download again....or is the latest 2.3 it?

nallath
Reactions:
Posts: 226
Joined: February 16th, 2016, 3:12 am
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by nallath » October 21st, 2016, 10:40 am

Seems the Beta was indeed removed. I have a direct link for you if you really want it.

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 2577
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5
Contact:

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by LePaul » October 21st, 2016, 10:44 am

I do...please and thank you

User avatar
Amedee
Reactions:
Posts: 599
Joined: February 15th, 2016, 11:10 am
Location: Brussels, Belgium
3D Printer(s): UMO / UMO+
Contact:

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by Amedee » October 21st, 2016, 11:00 am

But the production is out, why do you want the beta?
Phil.

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 2577
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5
Contact:

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by LePaul » October 21st, 2016, 12:07 pm

Amedee wrote:But the production is out, why do you want the beta?
To live dangerously :)

Anders Olsson
Reactions:
Posts: 398
Joined: February 8th, 2016, 8:37 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
3D Printer(s): UM2 UM2E, UM2Go, UM3, Delta Tower, Form 1+, Form 2
Contact:

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by Anders Olsson » October 22nd, 2016, 8:57 am

nallath wrote:eeeh. Probably not. But just changing line_width should do just the same for (almost) all intents and purposes.
Ok, thanks, that was almost too simple, I guess I can live with that :-)
You are likely to get lots of support questions from users of old Cura on this one though..

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 2577
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5
Contact:

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by LePaul » October 25th, 2016, 10:40 pm

Well....I'll post on the Ultimaker forum too....but I installed Cura 2.3.0 from the website, it un-installed the beta and after that, doesn't run.

I tried the install again. Same result.

I opted to check all the temp files were deleted, used CCleaner for that

Rebooted.

Fired up Cura 2.3.0 Got the splash screen. And nothing more.

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 2577
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5
Contact:

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by LePaul » October 26th, 2016, 10:09 am

Well I just installed Cura 2.3.0 on my work computer...same problem.

So far two installs...two fails :)

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 2577
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5
Contact:

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by LePaul » October 26th, 2016, 10:25 am

Okay

Un-installed 2.3.0
Deleted the Program Files \ Cura 2.3.1

Re-installed.

At end of install, selected "Run after install" Nothing happened.

Launched Cura 2.3.0 from Start - All Programs - Cura 2.3.1 (Windows 7 64 bit PC)

Splash screen loads, starts load up steps...then vanishes

What should I try next?

User avatar
Titus
Reactions:
Posts: 233
Joined: February 9th, 2016, 10:20 pm
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker Original+HBK

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by Titus » October 26th, 2016, 12:39 pm

Search your pc for Cura and delete everything, user folders appdata etc

User avatar
LePaul
Reactions:
Posts: 2577
Joined: February 7th, 2016, 10:26 pm
Location: Bangor, Maine USA
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2+, Folger Tech FT-5
Contact:

Re: 2.3 beta

Post by LePaul » October 26th, 2016, 12:50 pm

So all my other Cura installs have to go?

Post Reply

Return to “Cura”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest