Heated bed adhesion

Your ABS brand not mentioned in the categories? Chat about it here
Izzy
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): Ultimaker 2

Heated bed adhesion

Post by Izzy »

Hi Guys,
For printing with ABS what is your recommendations for the bed, GLue stick, hairspray or, ABS gunk. If ABS gunk, how do you make yours etc.

I've been printing for 18 months with PLA but just starting to test with ABS, I've had a few prints break free :oops:
Amedee
Reactions:
3D Printer(s): UMO / UMO+

Re: Heated bed adhesion

Post by Amedee »

I don't have extensive experience with ABS, I think others know better than I do, but here is my feedback:

- ABS gunk, works, but acetone fumes are killing me...
- Hairspray is still my favorite (with the girls at home, always easy to find some leftovers)
- Not too much success with glue stick, but I believe mine is cursed (see my Nylon post)
- Given the success I had with PVA based glue with Nylon, I'll probably try that next time I do ABS
Izzy
Reactions:

Post by Izzy »

Hi Amedee, is that PVA wood glue or craft PVA glue, and do you water it down etc. What do you do? :geek:
Amedee
Reactions:

Post by Amedee »

It is supposed to be craft PVA glue, but I used wood glue :roll:

I put a bit of glue in a bowl (about a tea spoon) and water it down (using a wet craft brush) -- you don't need a lot of water, dipping the brush once, max twice in the water is more than enough.

Then apply the glue with the brush on the cold plate, like you would apply paint on a wall: you don't want to have a thick layer, just having a small film. When it's dry you barely see it.
I don't have a picture, but when you look at this video can still see it.

To cleanup the plate, I just use warm water.
danilius
Reactions:

Post by danilius »